Department of Mathematics


The Department of Mathematics was started as a P.G. Centre of University of Mysore in 1968 and was initially hosted at K.R.E.C., Surathkal (presently known as N.I.T.K., Surathkal) to cater to the needs of the districts of Dakshina Kannada, Kodagu and Udupi. In the year 1972, the Department was shifted to the new campus at "Konaje" known as “Mangalagangothri". It became a full-fledged Department of Mangalore University form 1980 with 1-Professor, 1-Reader, 5-Lectureres.

The Department offers M.Sc. and Ph.D. programmes in Mathematics. Over the years, the department is actively involved in research activities in the specialized areas like, Graph theory, Lattice theory, Algebra and Numerical Analysis.  Two Major Research Projects in Graph Theory have been completed; among them One is supported by UGC and another by  DST(SERB).  Conferences, seminars, workshops and invited talks are frequently organized to facilitate research and create academic ambience among the students. There is a good response to the M.Sc. Mathematics Programme and successful students are employed in various institutions/ organizations. Students are encouraged and motivated to crack NET/SLET/GATE exams by providing constant support in terms of guidance and motivation; as a result many students have successfully qualified.